What is BLUE administration?
As a site administrator, you are in a security group that allows you full access to manage the BLUE site. You will be able to manage templates, groups, and users. You can also change the site configurations and branding, as well as help users when they are unable to access features or functions. The following information will help you complete administration tasks in your site.
Who can administer the BLUE site?
Only users who were added to a site administration group will be able to access the administrative areas in BLUE. This area is accessible from the left navigation panel, and includes areas such as, “process templates,” “users,” “site configuration,” and “advanced.”

Security
BLUE uses security permissions to control access to functions, library assets, and projects. These security rights are assigned to users during the installation and configuration of a BLUE site. All passwords and password rules are set up during the site configuration. Due to your security permissions, the screens you see in BLUE may differ from those shown here.
To define user access to certain folders and files, asset-based security is assigned to the assets or levels of the hierarchy. This type of security defines the access levels for an asset that are granted to a user group. These access levels determine the actions that can be performed on an asset.
To define the functions that users have, functional security is assigned to user groups. This kind of security defines the permissions that are granted to user groups to perform certain functions in BLUE. These functions can include the administration of users and groups, file upload, searching, Online Proofing, and others.
To control and manage workflows, additional security for projects and tasks is implemented and assigned to users. This kind of security is based on the users’ project-related responsibilities and defines who can manage projects, create templates, and own tasks in a project.
Security rights determine the accessibility or availability of certain functions or assets to a particular user group. As a result, some screen components, functions, and assets may not be accessible to all users.
Site configuration and branding
Site Administration
A Site Administrator can upload a custom logo, choose the site colors, set a custom header and configure a support site URL. When configured, the support site is accessible from the top toolbar.
Custom Header
This is an html page that can be displayed above the logo and top toolbar. Its height is configurable in pixels.

Users and roles
Site administrators have access to create and manage users and their groups. Click on the left navigation panel to access “Users.” The list of users will open on the right hand side, where you can search for users by group or name.
Creating and Editing users
The site administrator will enter the user’s information, including their email address, business unit, and authentication type.
By default, the user’s email address will become their username, which will be used to log in to BLUE. The administrator may change the username after entering an email address, but once the username has been saved, it cannot be changed.
Allow User to Log In
Users may be disabled when editing an existing user. By clearing the “Allow user to log in” checkbox, the user will not be able to log into the BLUE system. Select the “Allow user to log in” option if the user should be able to log into the BLUE system.
Allow user to be a contact in the system
Select the “Allow user to be a contact in the system” option if the user should be included in the list of contacts for Contact attribute value list.
Required password change on next login
Select the “Require password change on next login” option for a new or existing user will prompt the user to update their password the next time they log into BLUE.
Save and Notify
Click on the “Save & Notify” button if you want to send an email notifying a new user that they have access to BLUE or an existing user that their user account has been modified.
Unlocking user accounts
User accounts can become locked if there are too many failed login attempts, if the account is inactive, or if the password is expired. Click the Unlock User link in user details or in Edit User.

After clicking the Unlock User link, you may notify the end user that their account has been unlocked.

About groups
A user’s group determines what rights they have in the system, which defines the features and tools they can use. Therefore, site administrators should add users to groups that will allow the user to complete their work. Groups are created in group administration and are shown in a drop down list on the Groups tab.
Select the user’s groups and click Save.
Inactive Groups
Inactive groups are represented with a red dot, allowing administrators to set up users and groups in advance.
Limitation: A user cannot be in more than 2100 groups.
User’s notification preferences
When new users, you can also choose which email notifications they should receive. Open Preferences to select the notifications. When these events occur, the system will send the user an email with the details they need about the event. Users can change their own preferences in My Profile.

Menu Quicklinks

What is a quicklink?
A quicklink is a link to an external webpage that can be accessed from the BLUE navigation panel. The webpage opens in a new tab.
Who can set up and use quicklinks?
Administrators who have Function Administration rights can set up quicklinks by creating new Functions of the type “Quick Link.” Quicklinks are only displayed for those users who are in security groups that have permissions to view them.
How are quicklinks managed and used?
Quicklinks are managed in Advanced > Function Administration. An administrator will manage quicklinks and give permissions to groups so they can view them.
For more information on administration-related topics, visit these links…
For FAQs related to Administration, see FAQs.
